Service

Well here I am again…struggling on trying to find the right words to say to describe this experience.

In our course at Cliff College, we learned about discipleship, serving, and leading in our communities. I left thinking…”ok…well so much for leaving school. I just went back to it.” BUT, I came back and had an experience that showed me what it means to really serve and follow God.

The weekend before last was our annual Harvest festival at the church. All the scouts and people of the church collect items to be donated to The Beacon House (a local homeless shelter)…We had over 100 people turn up to the service to give back to the church and a wonderful meal following the service!  So on Monday, John and I set out across town to deliver all of the goods the church collected. When we showed up with all of these things and saw the look on everyones face I was so filled with joy. I learned about this place and how they are struggling to keep things running as much as they’d like to due to the lack of volunteers that come in. I’d been  struggling with looking for ways to fill my free time, and I knew that this was the answer. So, I’m applying to volunteer there as well.

I’ve expressed that…

I’ve had days where I just didn’t want to get out of bed. I’ve butted heads with some people, my patience has been tested,  and I’ve been completely frustrated. But, over all I’ve been able to say that I’m having the experience of a life time. I always knew that this wasn’t going to be an easy road, but God has shown up every day since I’ve been here.  Whether it be in the talks that I’ve had with people, to just proving constantly to me that I can make it. There are costs to being a disciple, and trials we must face…but I can honestly say that every step, good or bad, is worth it. I’ve never felt so motivated to serve, and I’m loving it. 

I’m so excited to see what the future has to offer me, and what I can do while I’m here.

“From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does it’s work.” Ephesians 4:16

Just some pictures to show everyone that I’m not sitting on my butt ALL THE TIME. 😉

Just learning some fun history!

Just learning some fun history!

Ray, Sue, and I at Hampton Court!

Ray, Sue, and I at Hampton Court!

Working on some art for our bible study!

Working on some art for our bible study!

IMG_0129IMG_0148

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

