“The core of man’s spirit comes from new experiences.” -Into the Wild

 

So, this week was the start of work for me. I do everything from working in a neighborhood community center, to working with the little babies through teenagers. It’s been quite a change of pace for me because at camp I’d see kids for one week at a time, ship them off and be ready for a new set. NOW, I see these same kids every week for an entire year…I guess what they could call me around here is a “youth worker.” I’ve never lead YOUTH GROUPS..this is scary. (In a good way of course.)

Tonight I started a bible study with the older youth about seeing where we fit ourselves into God’s story..or more like how God’s story fits into our lives. Some of us grow up knowing significant parts of the bible like Noah and the Ark…but if we started to actually read it, we look at those tiny words, and UNBELIEVABLY thin pages and think…”there’s no way I can get through this all.”  Of course then we start to maybe feel guilty or get even more confused about how this HUGE book connects at ALL to our lives. So, the idea is to make this map around the books of the bible, and see how we can bring them back to our lives in a realistic way. We know there aren’t TALKING DONKEYS, or people parting water…but the words are meant to teach us lessons that we apply to OUR life story.

I know i’m going to learn just as much from this as they are.

All of these new experiences like…getting hopelessly lost in London train stations (check), or leading bible studies is helping me to figure out how God is working in my life. It’s still hard for me…being away from home and all..But I know that there’s this story that I’m writing. There’s also a way for me to fit God’s story into my life. Someone once said that these words are poetry…They’re not meant to make sense all of the time, but you’re supposed to dig deeper and read in between the lines. So I’ll continue to read, and learn, and grow…even though I get confused sometimes I know I have the tools to keep me going.

I haven’t gotten to the point where I can quote the bible by heart, but I feel like i’m starting to sound like my mother…..Sheesh.

2 Timothy 3: 14-17

“But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, and how from infancy you have known the holy scriptures which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All scripture is God-breathed  and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

